The Plan

Jo (my good friend — check out her blog here) will tell you that I love plans. I love plans and lists and schedules. Carrying them out is a completely different story, but I do much better when I know what I still have to do. For one thing, I actually finish things every once in a while.

Like I mentioned in my last post, my first major rejection led me to create a set of goals and lists. To help with my accountability, I thought I’d share them all with you.

Short Stories

My ability with short fiction is really surprisingly poor. When I have an assignment or it’s fanfiction (yes, I know) I do fine. For an assignment, I know exactly what I’m trying to say and how long it needs to be, and with fanfiction I have a set of books and movies and other canon to support what is usually an unseen part of the story. But when it comes to my writing, I tend to think in long-term stories, in novels. This is an attempt to write more short fiction and work on it afterward.

  • Write 250 words/day for 5 days a week.
  • Write based off of a prompt once a week.
  • Editing a story for at least 30 minutes instead of writing.

Novels

Novels, I think, are more my speed. I have at least one major series, and several other books waiting to be written. What I need to work on here is actually writing out those ideas. For the series, I need to outline it fully as it’s a little complicated and needs to be planned before I start writing.

  • Write 250 words/day for 5 days a week.
  • Work on an outline for  30 minutes at least once a week (or instead of writing if I don’t have anything in the wings — like now).
  • Editing a story for at least 30 minutes once a week (also instead of writing).

Blogs

Writing for the blogs is a way to force myself to… well, write. This is pretty straightforward.

  • 1 post/week for this blog
  • 3 posts/week for my Harry Potter blog
  • At this point I’m planning the LBL blog, and trying to decide whether I’m going to keep it or not.

Reading

For someone who spent her childhood reading a stack of books a week, I haven’t been reading a lot lately. It’s mostly depression and exhaustion, but I need to get over it.

  • Read 30 minutes/day
  • Keep a reading journal
  • Write a review after each book (don’t know if I’ll be posting this or just keeping it for myself)

That’s everything. It might seem like a lot, but it’ll only come out to… three hours a day, maybe a bit longer. We’ll see how it goes, and I’ll reevaluate at the end of May. Hopefully, I won’t flop too badly.

 

One comment on “The Plan

  1. Nah. You should be fine. You just have to remember out other schedules, too. *grin*

Help Me Fill the Pages

