The Pain of a Plan Forgotten

Well, I wasn’t that far off. This is the first time I haven’t completely abandoned my plan, but I have hope! Also, I have some progress on the job front, which usually means that I’ll have less time to write. For me, that means that it’s more likely that I’ll write on a regular and prolific basis.

We’ll go over it one section at a time, see how well I did this month and what I’ll do for June.

Short Stories

I still suck at writing short stories.

  • Total Wordcount Goal: 5750 words (250 words, 5 days a week)
  • Total Words Written: 0 words
  • Total Prompts This Month: 4 Prompts
  • Total Prompts Written: o Prompts
  • Total Hours Editing Goal: 2 Hours
  • Actual Total Hours Editing: 4 Hours

Obviously, I didn’t do that great with this. Since I didn’t write anything, it’s also obvious that I didn’t write using prompts. However, I did manage to edit a couple of stories that I’d already written. Next month I’ll have the same goals.

 

Novels

I made some good progress with my novel work, which I’m quite proud of. I haven’t made a dent in the book, but I have a good outline and I’m still working on my notes.

  • Total Wordcount Goal: 5750 words (250 words, 5 days a week)
  • Total Words Written: 6023 words
  • Outline Goals: 1 Completed Outline, 1 Outline Started
  • Actual Outlines Written: 1 Completed Outline, 1 Outline Started
  • Editing Hours Anticipated: None – No Completed Stories
  • Actual Editing Hours: None

Next month I’ll also add an hour a week for note-taking. Once a week I’d like to reorganize my plot binder, too. We’ll see how it goes.

Blogs

  • Anticipated Blog Posts for This Blog: 5 Posts
  • Actual Blog Posts Written: 5 Posts
  • Anticipated Blog Posts for HP Blog: 14 Posts
  • Actual Blog Posts Written: 6 Posts

I’m still working on finalizing my plan for my Potter blog, which is why my posts for that blog have been off-schedule. I’m almost done with that, so next month should be all on-schedule. I’ll also be able to look at LBL and take stock next month.

Reading

  • Number of Books Read Goal: 4 Books
  • Number of Books Written: 4 Books
  • Reading Journal: Check
  • Book Reviews: None

I need to catch up with my book notes and my book reviews, but otherwise I did okay. I’ll keep the same goals for June.

Once again, I’ll see you all next month. Then we’ll take another look at the goals, take stock of what I did, reevaluate, and set new goals. If I can manage the 250 words a day, I’ll at least be upping my goals for novel-writing from 250 to 500 words a day.

 

4 comments on “The Pain of a Plan Forgotten

  1. Anonymous says:

    Setting goals is a great idea when it comes to anything, especially when you want to take things seriously. Just don’t beat yourself up if you don’t complete the goal on time.

Help Me Fill the Pages

