I Really Sound Like That?

There are quite a few studies out there that say that most people don’t like the sound of their own voices. Most of those studies also explain why precisely we don’t (it has something to do with the difference in how we hear ourselves when speaking and how we hear recorded sounds), but that doesn’t matter in this post. In this post I’m going to talk about finding my blogging voice.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but I am a wordy person. Some (most) would say that I can be pedantic, even. Usually they’re right. There are a lot of random facts rolling around in my skull and I can get distracted by them, so I end up rambling. I hope to cut down on that — at least in writing.

When I first started blogging I was worried about sounding like an idiot (I don’t know why; I’m usually quite smart), and that translated into being wordy in a much less entertaining fashion than I normally am. Since then I’ve relaxed a bit and I’m becoming wordy in a way that I hope is much more entertaining. Hopefully.

Finding your voice is one of the things that’s shouted at beginning writers almost as often as “Write what you know.” It’s also one of the hardest things to find because the only way you can really find your voice is to write. Just like most other forms of art, we need to practice to get good at it.

But, really, what is “voice”?

It’s you. Voice is how you put yourself into your writing that makes it unique to you. Not on any sort of conscious level,  although it can be downplayed or emphasized on purpose. Your voice is the soul of your writing, it’s your soul put into the written word. Don’t hide who you are in your writing; that’s what readers remember.

My favorite authors (and bloggers) all have distinct, developed voices that I can identify in moments. This is what I hope to find for myself. Even if I’m never a great or even a good writer, I want a part of my soul to show in how I write. I want the people who know me best in my personal life to be able to tell that these are my words, and I don’t want people I meet online to be disappointed by me in real life.

Have you found your voice yet? How did you? Do you think I sound interesting or would you like to hit me over the head with something very heavy just to shut me up? (It’s more understandable than you may think.)

 

**I’m an idiot. Mostly I’m an idiot technologically. Sorry to everyone who read the first (non) draft. This is the one I intended to post.**

 

3 comments on “I Really Sound Like That?

  1. sj says:

    I feel like this blank post is some play on the name of your blog?

    • b.h.quinn says:

      Nope. It’s evidence of my inability with computers (or how much my internet connection hates me). I’ll have it all fixed in a few. Thanks for giving me the benefit of the doubt. 🙂

  2. a.j.gryphons says:

    …I think I am confused. Really sound like… what?

Help Me Fill the Pages

